Junior Race Coaching
Junior racing sessions provide a fantastic opportunity for juniors of an intermediate/ advanced standard to come to the club and begin to race with other juniors in their own boats, or club boats (where pre-booked).


Parents are required to be responsible for their juniors during these sessions and should remain at DQSC whilst their children are on the water. Please contact the Class Captain in advance to confirm your place so that sufficient safety cover can be organised.

Juniors taking part should be able to sail to RYA Level 2 standard and essentially:


1. be able to rig the boats themselves
2. sail a triangular course
3. recover a capsize


The Class Captains for the juniors are Sam Schermuly and Giles Hall, assisted by the following Junior Class Captains: Francesca Sprules, Beckie Manning, Henry Bettle, Phoebe Noble, Dominic White, Matt Smaller and James White.
Junior racing contact email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Junior Sail Training
We run RYA Youth Sailing Scheme courses; juniors attending these courses will be working towards RYA approved qualifications, which are internationally recognised. They will be running as an addition to the race coaching, the race series and Junior Week, so keep you eyes peeled for the latest course developments. For more details see the Training Programme pages of the Yearbook or the Training pages of this website.

Book a place on any of these courses using our online booking form.

We look forward to seeing you all on the water.

You can also book a club boat using our online booking form

 

Junior Events Calendar 2017

 Date Start Time  Event
 Sunday 19th March 14:30  Junior Race Series 1/2
 Sunday 9th April 10:45  Junior Race Series 3/4
 Monday 10th April TBA  Junior Training
 Tuesday 11th April TBA  Junior Training
 Friday 14th April 13:15  Junior Mini Series 1/2/3
 Saturday 15th April 13:45  Junior Mini Series 4/5/6
 Sunday 16th April 14:30  Junior Mini Series 7/8
 Sunday 30th April 13:45  Junior Race Series 5/6
 Monday 1st May TBA  Junior Fun Sail
 Sunday 14th May 13:30  Junior Persuit & Fun
 Friday 19th May 17:30  Fun Friday 1
 Saturday 27th May TBA  Chichester Optomist Open
 Sunday 28th May 13:00  Junior Race Series 7/8
 Friday 2nd June 18:00  Fun Friday 2
 Friday 16th June 17:15  Fun Friday 3
 Fri/Sat/Sun 16/17/18 June TBA  DQSC Cobnor Camp
 Friday 30th June 17:30  Fun Friday 4
 Saturday 8th July 11:00  Short Races 1/2/3/4/5
 Friday 14th July 17:00  Fun Friday 5
 Sunday 16th July 16:00  Junior Late Trophy 1/2
 Friday 28th July 17:30  Fun Friday 6
 Sunday 30th July 16:00  Junior Late Trophy 3/4
 Saturday 5th August 10:00  Short Races 6/7/8/9/10
 Monday 7th - Friday 11th August TBA  JUNIOR WEEK
 Saturday 12th August TBA  DQSC Junior Regatta
 Saturday 26th August TBA  Junior Race Training
 Sunday 27th August 14:45  Junior Late Trophy 5/6
 Sunday 3rd September TBA  Junior Race Training
 Saturday 9th September TBA  WSSYSA
 Sunday 10th September TBA  WSSYSA
 Sunday 17th September 09:30  Junior Bass Cup 1/2
 Sunday 24th September 13:30  Junior Late Trophy 7/8
 Saturday 21st October 12:00  Junior Bass Cup 3/4