Junior Race Coaching

Junior racing sessions provide a fantastic opportunity for juniors of an intermediate/ advanced standard to come to the club and begin to race with other juniors in their own boats, or club boats (where pre-booked).


Parents are required to be responsible for their juniors during these sessions and should remain at DQSC whilst their children are on the water. Please contact the Class Captain in advance to confirm your place so that sufficient safety cover can be organised.

Juniors taking part should be able to sail to RYA Level 2 standard and essentially:


1. be able to rig the boats themselves
2. sail a triangular course
3. recover a capsize


The Class Captain for the juniors is Hilary Sparks, assisted by the following Junior Class Captains: Francesca Sprules, Beckie Manning, Henry Bettle, Phoebe Noble, Dominic White, Matt Smaller and James White.
Junior racing contact email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Junior Sail Training

 

We are running junior training session throughout the sailing season. So if you would like to practice, improve or complete a stage, please book up. We will limiting the sessions to 12 sailors, in two groups depending on sailing experience. Please book up via the website. Junior page.

The dates are 18th April 09:00, 7th June 12:00, 4th July 10:00, 26th July 16:00,

We also have a fun session on the 10th May at 13:00.

 

Finally, we have race training sessions ready for the West Sussex schools Regatta, we aim to have two groups. One for beginners and one for those who have raced before. This is date is the 6th September 13:00.  The West Sussex Schools Regatta is the weekend after at Cobnor.  Of course you can join any of the junior racing on at the club. No need to pre sign up for these races.

 

Of course we also have junior week and the 2 school holiday training too.

 

We finish with a Junior Halloween party.

 

Please as your parents to sign you up for any of these events, would be great to see you on the water.

 

 

Book a place on any of these courses using our Online Booking Form

We look forward to seeing you all on the water.

You can also book a club boat Online

 

Junior Events Calendar 2020

Download an .ical file of all the Junior Events to add to your personal calendar
and also one for the Training Events, most of which are Junior oriented

 

 Date Start Time  Event
 Tues/Wed 7th/8th April TBA

 [Cancelled] April Junior Training

 Friday 10th April
13:35  [Cancelled] Junior Mini Series 1/2/3
 Sunday 12th April 14:50  [Cancelled] Junior Mini Series 4/5/6
 Saturday 18th April
09:00  [Cancelled] Junior Sailing
 Sunday 10th May
13:00  [Cancelled] Junior Fun Sailing
 Saturday 23rd May
13:30  [Cancelled] DQSC Optimist Open Meeting
 Tue 26th & Wed 27th May TBA  [Cancelled] May Junior Training
 Sunday 7th June 12:00  [Cancelled] Junior Coaching
 Saturday 4th July 10:00  [Cancelled] Junior Coaching
 Saturday 25th July 15:15  [Cancelled] Junior sunset Short Series 1,2
 Saturday 26th July 16:00  [Cancelled] Junior Coaching
 Saturday 1st August 16:30  [Cancelled] Junior Week SOCIAL
 Sunday 2nd August 10:50  Junior Late Trophy 1,2
 Mon 3rd Aug - Fri 7th August TBA  [Cancelled] Junior Week
 Sunday 9th August 15:35  Junior Late Trophy 3,4
 Sunday 13th August 18:35  Junior Sunset Short Series 3
 Sunday 23rd August 15;05  Junior Late Trophy 5,6
 Wednesday 26th August
18:05  Junior Sunset Short Series 4
 Sunday 30th August 13:00  Junior Coached Races
 Sunday 6th September 13:00  RACE Training
 Pre West Sussex Schools Regatta
 Friday 11th September 17:50  Junior Sunset Short Series 5,6
 Saturday 31st October 16:30  Junior Halloween Party