Dinghies Dinghy Racing Race Reports

Sunny Conclusion to DQSC 2013/2014 Frostbite Series

The 2013/2014 Winter Frostbite Series concluded with races 13 & 14, on the 1st of March.

The final race report of the series was published in the Chichester Observer on Thursday the 6th March 2014. See press cutting below:

Podium positions for the complete series is as follows:

First: Bill Dawber (Solo 5258) - DQSC

Second: Malcolm Buchanan (Solo 5078) - DQSC

Third: Mike Fitzgerald & Tim Dormer (Laser 2000 2174)

 Frostbite 13  14 Race Report

See below for transcript of report:

DQSC Race Report for 1st March 2014

A beautiful sunny day, with light but variable breezes, made for a great day’s sailing in the final two races of the DQSC Frostbite series.  

For the first race most of the fleet favoured the club end of the start line where the incoming flood tide was strongest. First over the line was Malcolm Buchanan (Solo) followed closely by a small group of leading boats.

Avoiding the many moored yachts, the fleet made its way towards Fishbourne and the first mark. Malcom Buchanan (Solo) and the RS400 team of Peter King and Jamie Pescott were first to round the mark followed by David Swift (Solo).

The leaders rounding the mark now had the advantage of starboard tack as they doubled back through the approaching remainder of the fleet.  A long close haul followed with different routes being taken to avoid the tide and the wind light for much of the race, sometimes dropping to nothing.  

After rounding the second mark the fleet took a reach across the harbour to the third mark and then embarked on a run back towards the first mark. Throughout the race the asymmetrics overhauled the slower boats making it hard to determine who was in the lead on corrected time.

The final results, corrected for handicap, gave Buchanan 1st place with Ken Baker and Ron Warren (Yachting World Day Boat) in 2nd place and David Swift coming in 3rd.

At the start of the 2nd race, with the tide now ebbing, first over the line where several single handers. Once again moored yachts provided the opportunity for some tactical manoeuvring, with those boats taking the easterly route managing to round the first mark ahead of the rest of the fleet.

Once again variable wind strengths and directions made for challenging racing as the fleet completed 2 laps of the course, giving 1st place to the RS400 team of Chris Rowsell and Jason Mortimer, 2nd place to Malcolm Buchanan and 3rd place to David Swift.

The winner of the Frostbite series is confirmed as Bill Dawber (Solo), with Malcom Buchan (Solo) 2rd and Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer in 3rd place overall.

The start of Frostbite Race 14

DQSC1 Start of Frostbite Race 14

The DQSC Frostbite Fleet approaching Fishbourne

DQSC2 The Fleet Approaching Fishbourne

Moored Yachts get in the way

DQSC3 Moored Yachts get in the way

 Running back to the first mark

DQSC4 Running back to the first mark