Dinghies Dinghy Racing Race Reports

Prizegiving and Laying Up Supper

 (Published in the Chichester Observer on Thursday 20th November 2014)

Prize Giving Dawber and Barclay Cropped

Bill Dawber and Gordon Barclay receiving their prizes from Peter and Hilary King


Dell Quay Sailing Club celebrated a successful 2014 racing season at the annual laying-up supper and prize giving in early November. An excellent meal at the Dell Quay clubhouse was followed by distribution of the club's silverware to the winners of the various race series.

In the two adopted classes the Solos were dominated by Bill Dawber with Gordon Barclay a close second, whilst the 2000 class saw Anne and Jim Norfolk take the majority of cups. There was a wide range of winners in the Handicap fleet, from the fast assymetric RS400s to the rather more stable Lymington Scow. Junior racer Tom Bettle beat many adult sailors to collect a third place in his Topper for the Handicap Late Trophy Series.

This year an additional trophy, the Munnery Award for 'perseverance', was awarded in memory of former DQSC commodore and much respected long standing member Bill Munnery, who sadly passed away at the beginning of the year. This trophy was awarded to Roy and Beryl Dyton.

A full list of Prize winners follows:

Jack Lewis Trophy: Rob Corfield and Chris Campbell

Single handed Trophy, Alarm Clock Trophy: Malcolm Buchanan

Presidents Trophy, Handicap Trophy: Tim Dormer and Mike Fitzgerald

Palmer Goblet: Graham and Lucy Dalton

Hitch Trophy: David Swift

Barclay Egg Trophy, Carriage Clock Trophy, Victor Cook Trophy, Dell Quay Quart Trophy: Anne and Jim Norfolk

Sam Burke Trophy: Warwick Hoddy and John Denyer.

Martell Challenge Trophy: Richard Ede

Williams Trophy: Chris Wood

Commodores Cup: William Lynas

Market Cross Salver: John Purdy

Farwell Trophy: Jean and Liz Sagues

Fortune Trophy, Horace Gordon Trophy, Fred Taylor Trophy, Noyce Memorial Trophy: Bill Dawber

Tomsett Cup: Henry Bettle and Alex Briggs

Mary Ross Trophy: Nikki Buchanan

Barts Bash: Andrew Buchanan

Herbert Ward Trophy: Fred Hilgers