Dinghies Racing Race Reports

2015 Prize Giving Ceremony

(Published in the Chichester Observer on Thursday 5th November 2015)

Dell Quay Sailing Club’s annual prize giving ceremony took place by atmospheric candle light this year, following a delicious end-of-season Laying Up supper. Presenting the awards were Peter King (DQSC Rear Commodore Sailing) and his wife Hilary.

In addition to the winners of individual and series races there were also awards for individual achievement. Newest of these awards is the Munnery Award which is presented to the sailor(s) who have showed the greatest perseverance and tenacity during the racing season. The Trophy was presented to the club in memory of Bill Munnery, a much respected former commodore who sadly died in 2013 following a long illness. Despite his illness Bill showed enormous perseverance in pursuing his love of club racing right up until a few weeks before his untimely death.

This year the trophy, modelled as a single handed dinghy, was awarded to Richard Bridgmont. Richard is relatively new to racing at DQSC and although not yet in the top rank of club racers goes out regularly during the week to practice in his Solo and attends as many races as he can, demonstrating his commitment to the club and the sport.

Another individual achievement award is the Mary Ross Trophy which is awarded to the highest placed lady helm in the Early and Late Helm series. This year it went to Nikki Buchanan. A number of members also won more than one trophy for racing, including Andrew Buchanan, Phoebe Noble, Bill Dawber, Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer.

DQSC starts its Winter Frostbite Series on Saturday 28th November at 11:25 am and is open to all. Details can be found Here

The full list of winners this year is:

Jack Lewis Trophy: Phoebe Noble, Single Handed Trophy: Bill Dawber, President’s Trophy: Martin and Sarah Greenhalgh, Palmer Goblet: John Purdy, Hitch Trophy: Andrew Buchanan, Barclay Egg Trophy: Bill Dawber, Sam Burke Trophy: Jean and Liz Sagues, Alarm Clock: Martyn Jones, Carriage Clock: Phoebe Noble, Martell Challenge Trophy: Bill Dawber, Williams Trophy: Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer, Commodore’s Cup: Lizzie Kies, Victor Cook Trophy: Bill Dawber, Market Cross Salver: Simon Bell, Farwell Trophy: Andrew Buchanan, Fortune Trophy: Bill Dawber, Dell Quay Quart: Anne and Jim Norfolk, Handicap Trophy: for Crews/Beginners Race, Jim Boles; for All The Rest Race, Richard Ede, Tomsett Cup: Phoebe Noble, Horace Gordon Trophy: Chris Wood, Fred Taylor Trophy: Malcolm Buchanan, Mary Ross Trophy: Nikki Buchanan, Bart’s Bash: Lee and Max Sydenham, Noyce Memorial Trophy: Roger Puttock, Herbert Ward Trophy: Keith and Michaela Heppenstall, Bransbury Williams Trophy: Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer, Munnery Award: Richard Bridgmont.  

Photos by Sue Nash

DQ1 Liz and Jean Sagues

Liz and Jean Sagues, winners of the Sam Burke Trophy

DQ2 Jim Boles

 Jim Boles, Handicap Trophy winner

DQ3 Nikki Buchanan

 Nikki Buchanan, winner of the Mary Ross Trophy

DQ4 Bill Dawber

Bill Dawber, winner of 5 trophies