Dinghies Dinghy Racing Race Reports

Blustery End to the Short Race Series

(Published in the Chichester Observer on Thursday 21 July 2016)

The annual Dell Quay Crews, Beginners and All the Rest race started in a force 5 south westerly, gusting to force 6 at times, which made for some fast and exciting reaches. Race Officer Sarah Eggleton set a figure of 8 course taking in Crouchers, Copperas West and Copperas East racing marks.

This handicap race is designed to have separate starts for sailors new to racing, experienced sailors and helms that normally race as crew. Due to lack of crews racing, only starts for beginners and All the Rest were put in place. The Crews race was won by Richard Crabb sailing a Comet, with Mike Hindmarsh taking second place in an RS Feva.

The All the Rest race was dominated by 6 Solos with a Laser 4.7 the only other boat, making this almost a Solo class race. However, despite the stiff competition from the Solos, Sue Manning managed to come first both on the water and on handicap, in the slower boat! Second place went to John Purdy and third place to David Swift.

The following day, conditions were even more challenging for races 6 to 10 of the short race series with similar wind speeds and directions but far more gusty than the day before. Race Officer Roy Dyton set a short course between Copperas West, Crouchers and Quay racing marks.

The earlier races produced multiple capsizes, forcing several participants to retire early. In the final race all but 3 boats remained to complete the series. During the first race the Copperas West racing mark broke free of its mooring, forcing the Race Officer to set up a temporary mark to replace it.

Bill Dawber (Solo) won race 6, but then retired, leaving Chris Wood (Streaker) second and David Maltby (Solo) third. David Maltby then went on to win all the remaining races with Mike Shaw (Solo) and Peter King (RS400) coming second and third respectively in three of these races.

Overall series winner and recipient of the Carriage Clock Trophy is Chris Wood, with Mike Shaw second and David Maltby third.

Andrew HorneP1030171

   Bill Dawber and Peter King