Dinghies Dinghy Racing Race Reports

Dell Quay Celebrates Another Great Year of Racing

(Published in the Chichester Observer on Thursday 1st December 2016)

Dell Quay Sailing Club held its annual prize giving ceremony once again this year after a superb supper, which had many diners coming back for seconds! Presenting the awards were Peter King (DQSC Rear Commodore Sailing) and his wife Hilary.

With the absence of the club’s top two Solo sailors from much of the racing this year, many more members were able to collect trophies than in previous years. This has been one of the best years so far for the Solo fleet, which picked up 11 of the 21 trophies awarded, with Dave Maltby and Roger Puttock each collecting 3 and veteran racer Gordon Barclay taking a further 2. Not to be outdone by the Solos, Andrew Buchanan and Sue Manning each picked up 2 awards in the Handicap fleet.

In addition to the winners of individual and series races there were also awards for individual achievement. Lizzie Kies was awarded the Commodores Cup for her performance in the WSSYSA Regatta.

Another individual achievement award is the Mary Ross Trophy, awarded to the highest placed lady helm in the Early and Late Helm series. For the second year running it went to Nikki Buchanan.

As well as the formal race series some racing was provided during the year on the “Fun Fridays”. These are family evenings dedicated to just having fun on the water and include a number of fun races. First place overall in these races went to Bruce Dupee, with Derek Poole second and Hilary and Gareth Sparkes third.

DQSC has started its Winter Frostbite Series, which is open to all. Details can be found on the club website Here

The full list of winners this year is:

Jack Lewis Trophy: Rob Corfield, Single Handed Trophy: Roger Puttock, President’s Trophy: Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer, Palmer Goblet: Andrew Buchanan, Hitch Trophy: Gordon Barclay, Barclay Egg Trophy: Roger Puttock, Alarm Clock: Dave Maltby, Carriage Clock: Chris Wood, Martell Challenge Trophy: Roger Francis, Williams Trophy: Dave Maltby, Commodore’s Cup: Lizzie Kies, Victor Cook Trophy: Dave Maltby, Market Cross Salver: Andrew Buchanan, Farwell Trophy: Sue Manning, Fortune Trophy: Mike Shaw, Handicap Trophy: Gordon Barclay, Horace Gordon Trophy: Roger Francis, Fred Taylor Trophy: Gordon Barclay, Mary Ross Trophy: Nikki Buchanan, Noyce Memorial Trophy: Roger Puttock, winning helms, Herbert Ward Trophy: Bill Dawber, non-winning helms, Bransbury Williams Trophy: John Purdy, Munnery Award: Henry Bettle.  

Andrew Horne

DQS2 Dave Maltby

David Maltby - Alarm Clock, Williams and Victor Cook Trophies

DQS9 Roger Puttock

 Roger Puttock - Barclay Egg, Single Handed and Noyce Memorial Trophies

DQS10 Sue Manning

Sue Manning - Farwell Trophy and All the Rest Race Winner 

DQS4 Gordon Barclay

Gordon Barclay - Fred Taylor and Hitch Trophies

DQS3 Mike Fitzgerald  Tim Dormer

 Mike Fitzgerald and Tim Dormer - President's Trophy

DQS8 Nikki Buchanan

Nikki Buchanan - Mary Ross Trophy 

DQS1 Bill Dawber

Bill Dawber- Herbert Ward Trophy 

DQS5 John Purdy

 John Purdy - Bransbury Williams Trophy

DQS7 Mike Shaw

Mike Shaw - Fortune Trophy