Dinghies Dinghy Racing Race Reports

Great Series Win for Solo Class Late Trophy

The final two races of the Dell Quay SC Late Trophy series took place in the fine September sunshine, which provided ideal sailing conditions with a South Westerly blowing at a steady 8 to 12 knots. Race Officer Simon Verral, newly elected Solo Class Captain, set off the Solo fleet first, followed 10 minutes later by the Handicap fleet.

Coming into the last two races of the Solo Late Trophy series Simon Verrall and Roger Puttock were on top of the table with Puttock needing two wins to challenge Verral for the series.

After a thrilling performance in the first race Puttock achieved his first win, with Mark Harper second and Richard Bridgmont third. However Puttock was pipped to the post in the second race by Harper, leaving him to settle for second place, with John Purdy third. This result secured the series win and the Fortune Trophy for Verrall, with Puttock taking second place and Stephen Holcroft third. Altogether, thirteen Solo dinghies competed in the series, making it a very successful end to the season for the class.

Over in the handicap class Tim Boon in the Laser Radial arrived on the start line for the first race with the series win already secured, having taken four first places in the previous races. Will Parrett and son Rory in their Firefly came first in both of the day’s races giving them a fantastic second place in the series overall. Second and third places in the first race went to Mike Dicker (RS Vareo) and Rob Corfield (RS400) respectively. Jean and Liz Sagues (Lymington Scow) took second place in the next race, with Dicker third.

Tim Boon takes the Farwell Trophy as his reward for winning the handicap series, with Will and Rory Parrett second and Rob Corfield third.

DQSC Late Trophy Race 6 Start

DQSC Late Trophy Solo 1

DQSC Late Trophy Solo 2

DQSC Late Trophy Solo 3

DQSC Late Trophy Solo 4